Biden won, but did we?

J. Shore
3 min readNov 9, 2020

How can we make sure that lasting change comes as a result of this election.

Photo by Jon Tyson on Unsplash

I was in the middle of a grocery store when everything fell silent.

Everyone stopped picking up apples and inspecting them for bruises and checked their phones. My phone started ringing as I got several text messages. I got a call from one of my best friends, and she said “they called Pennsylvania! It’s over!”. I suddenly felt a release, one that I had been waiting for for nearly four years. I felt as if a spray-tanned, idiotic, narcissistic 300lb weight had been lifted off of my shoulders.

Photo by Brittani Burns on Unsplash

Everything then fell even more silent; a moment of communal disbelief I presume. People called their loved ones. Celebrated, but silently. Here in New Hampshire, we are a quiet folk who are known to keep personal business personal. It was in a moment like this that I had disdain for that fact: I wish we could have erupted in applause. I wish we could have erupted in joy and celebration. Instead, we all smiled, quietly and brightly behind our masks. Deep in the pit of my stomach, I knew that this was only step one in a series of victories that are yet to come. Victories that are mutually exclusive and necessary for lasting change. We won. Great! Now what?

Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

Many progressives like myself can wholeheartedly agree that Joe Biden‘s climate policy is lackluster at best. The Sunrise Movement gave his climate plan an “F” during the Democratic primaries. As someone who fully believes scientists (isn’t it pathetic that I even feel that it is necessary to say that), I knew that we needed a candidate who would stop at nothing to make sure that this planet was livable for generations to come. I did not, and still do not believe that Joe Biden is the person to save this planet for the future.

After the pathetic debates between Biden and Trump, hearing Biden proudly proclaim, “We will not end fracking!”, after initially saying the inverse and flip-flopping, my opinion was set in stone.

Photo by Michael Held on Unsplash

That being said, I think it goes without saying that Biden’s policies are light-years better than the alternative. His policies are not anywhere near as proactive as they need to be, but it is certainly better than nothing.

This is where you, my dear reader, come in to play.

Photo by Callum Shaw on Unsplash

If you feel as strongly as I do about preserving our beautiful planet for generations to come, please check out The Climate Emergency Fund.

If you are willing and able to get involved, please consider either donating your time or money to help their mission. They help people to insight lasting change upon politicians. By the end of Biden’s presidency, it might be too late to make lasting change and prevent climate catastrophe. Together, if we are all able to stand up and fight back against corporate hunger for destroying this planet’s finite resources, we can protect this planet for longer than the grim outcome that scientist unilaterally proclaim.

Be the change.

There is no planet B.

--

--

J. Shore

J. Shore is a fierce environmentalist who has a passion for sharing meaningful stories, firsthand experiences, and guides to make the planet a kinder place.